Cauliflower Crust Pizza: Vegan

CauliflowerPizzaIt has been forever and a day since I’ve eaten pizza but for whatever reason that’s all I’ve been craving this week… odd. Now, I’ve been eating my fair share of bread and therefore wanted to make a “guiltless” pizza. Thanks to the Google machine I was able to find a few recipes for a pizza made with a cauliflower crust (serious question: Am I the LAST person on earth to have never heard of this?!). There was one problem, now don’t judge me, but before today I….have…never…ever…owned a grater. GASP! How have I survived with out one?!?!? I don’t know. What I do know is that my life is grater (see what I did there?) 😉 because of it. Enough of me babbling, on to the recipe!

PS. I may or may not have also use my grater to make a Carrot Cake…. (I totally did).

Ingredients (for the crust):

5 Cups of grated cauliflower (about 1 head)

5 Tablespoons of grounded flax seed**

7 tablespoons of water**

1/2 Cup of Corn flour

1/4 Cup of Nutritional Yeast.

1 Tablespoon of dry oregano

1 Teaspoon of garlic powder ( or to taste)

1 Teaspoon of salt.

Other materials/ ingredients

Parchment paper

Tomato sauce

Your favorite Vegan Cheese (grated)

Toppings: Spinach, peppers, mushrooms… the possibilities are endless.

Step 0: Preheat oven to 420 degrees

Step 1: Mix the grounded flax seed with the water (Usually the ratio for flaxseed eggs is 1:3 but I panicked and halved the amount of water)** Let sit for 15-20 minutes.

Step 2: Give those arms a good workout and grate one head of cauliflower (should yield about 5 cups).

Step 3. Cook cauliflower on a skillet for a few minutes, about 5-7 on medium heat.

Step 4. Mix cauliflower with ‘flax eggs’

Step 5. Season to taste with remaining ingredients. Get creative!

Step 6. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread ‘dough’ (It will have a dough-like texture!)

Step 7. Bake in oven for 25-30 minutes, until the edges start to brown a bit. Remove from oven

Step 8. Add tomato sauce, cheese, and toppings. Bake for 10 additional minutes.

Step 9. Eat!

Tips: Make the edges thicker (like a real pizza).

 

I can not say enough good things about this recipe, so easy yet so so good! Next week I plan on making a Hawaiian Pizza!! Yum!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend!!

 

M

