The perfect Saturday breakfast (Vegan Date Loaf, Green Juice, & Truvia Review)

ImageOh boy, this is a really ambitious post! With the weather warming up here in NY my friend and I decided to hit Central Park and picnic, the day was already shaping up to be amazing. Good weather and even better company, how could I top that? Well I did, but don’t tell her that 😉 While the picnic was just what I needed the breakfast I quickly put together while getting ready for the day was even better! In the past I’ve shared my obsession for oatmeal (I have oatmeal for breakfast 5-7 times a week) but yesterday I felt like indulging in something different… with a fresh pack of dates in the fridge & a new bag of Truvia (Baking Blend) that I hadn’t ever used, I decided to experiment….behold, the recipe below (adapted from a random date loaf recipe found online):

1 cup of dates pitted & chopped

1/2 cup of Truvia (it will come out really sweet so you can do a bit less)

1/4 vegan margarine

1 cup of boiling water

1 3/4 cup of self rising flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

dash of cinnamon

Preheat oven at 390 degrees.

Grease & Flour pan.

Mix dates, Truvia**, margarine, and boling water. Let stand for 15 minutes.

Stir in flour, baking soda, and cinnamon.

Pour batter into pan.

Bake for 25 minutes.

I wanted to balance my dessert for breakfast with something healthy (although that ‘cake’/loaf is pretty darn harmless if you ask me!) so I decided to quickly make a green juice that would last (because I hate cleaning my blender). Recipe below.

Handful (or 2) of Spinach

Handful of ice

1 banana

1 cup  fresh strawberries

1/4 cup frozen mangos

1 cup of water (add more if you want to make it less thick)

Blend! & Chug 😉

**I love sweets, it’s my weakness. Hi, I am sugarholic. I love cookies, I love cake, I love sweets. BUT we all know too much sugar, is no bueno. So what’s a gal to do? Look for alternatives! because there is no way that I am giving up my sweets….no way! I looked online for a few alternatives and finally settled on Truvia. I was skeptical. The packaging claims that you only need to use half the amount a recipe calls for. For example, if a recipe (like the original date loaf cake) calls for 1 cup of sugar then you only need to use 1/2 cup of Truvia. That’s simple enough. Like I said, I was skeptical but I used the 1/2 cup of Truvia and could not be happier with the results. I will definitely be baking with Truvia from now on. I would even say that you need to use even LESS that 1/2.

